What are locks?

Locks are a file status that lets the team know you are working on a file. Lock status is shown in the Workbench project online. The statuses are:

  • Unlocked
  • Locked by you - shown by a gold lock symbol
  • Locked by a teammate - shown by a gray lock symbol

Although another user on the project can download, open, or save a new version of the file, the other user will be prompted to unlock the file first if they try to upload a new version.

Locking for SolidWorks users

Using the Workbench Desktop App add-in for SolidWorks, you can do everything you need to from within SolidWorks

Let's say you're working on one part within an assembly. When you open SolidWorks, select the project in the GrabCAD add-in and click on "Local Folder" to bring you to the list of files.
To let your teammates know you're working on the file, lock the file from the Command Manager ribbon. 
If one of your teammates also has this file open they will see a notification: 

When you are done working, save your changes and unlock the file. 
The add-in will show you have changes to upload. Upload your new versions using the right-side add-in tab. 
If your coworkers have an assembly open that references your part, they will get a notification that a new version is available. They can click to load the new version of your files into their window.

If you need to release files to partners, restore an old version, or comment on a file, click on the Workbench cloud button to go to the project in your browser.

Locking for other CAD systems

Uploading and downloading take place from within the Desktop App. File locking is accomplished via the web interface.

To see which files your team is working on, check out the list of files in the Workbench project. Click on "Open Project" from the Desktop App to go straight there. Check the lock status of the file you want to work on, and if it is unlocked, lock it by clicking on the lock or by right clicking on the file. You can lock an assembly along with its components, however components in a  Common Parts Library project cannot be locked in this way.

Go to your project folder on your computer by clicking "Open Folder" in the Desktop App and open the file you want to work on.
When you're done editing the file, save it and upload your new version using the Desktop App
Click on "Open Project" and unlock the file from Workbench online by clicking the lock icon or by right clicking on the file.

Unlocking a locked file

If you need to work on a file that is locked by a teammate, you can unlock that file in either the Desktop App or the Workbench project online. This is useful if a team member leaves a project or goes on vacation.

  • When you unlock a file that was locked by someone else, you will have to add a message to the project stating why: 
  • The whole team will receive a notification about this comment

This keeps the team moving forward while promoting responsible behavior and full transparency without the need for an IT administrator to get involved.

You can also unlock a file after saving a new version using the Desktop App by clicking the red lock icon:

SolidWorks is a registered trademark of Dassault Systèmes SolidWorks Corporation.

Can't find what you need? Send us a message Send us a message